Henry Fong Award for Global Citizenship and Peace

Each year, the INU recognizes an outstanding student within the INU network who exemplifies a person committed to the concept of global citizenship. The INU defines global citizenship as the awareness of the world as a global community and the recognition of the rights and responsibilities of citizens within it. This award is possible due to generous contribution of Dr. Henry Fong Yun-Wah, a prominent Hong Kong business leader, philanthropist and Honorary Doctor of Letters at La Trobe University in Australia.

The award comprises a scholarship to study for a maximum of one semester at another INU member university and a stipend of $2,000 (USD) to support travel costs and living expenses.

The exchange semester should be a non-degree semester on the undergraduate level; the awardee cannot get his or her degree from the hosting INU university.



Applicants need to complete and submit the following:

  • Essay: In an essay of no more than 1,200 words participants are asked to reflect upon and demonstrate their personal understanding of the concept of Global Citizenship, drawing upon the contents of the seminar and personal reflections. The essay should refer to sessions, provide examples from the exercises and discussions they have been involved in, and demonstrate their commitment to global thinking/understanding/action.
  • Host University: Applicants should identify the INU university at which they would like to study for an exchange semester. They should also identify courses in which they are interested.
  • CV: Applicants are asked to enclose their curriculum vitae (resume) and contact details.

All documents must be presented in English.

The essay, host university, courses of interest, and CV (resume) should be submitted via email to the INU Office.


Full-time students at INU member universities with a good knowledge of English, who attended the Student Seminar on Global Citizenship and Peace.


A selection committee consisting of INU academics teaching at the INU Student Seminar will be responsible for selecting the award winner. The selection will take place in September of the current year. The name of the Award recipient will be published in October.


Isabella Revina Wibowo

2017 Henry Fong Award winner, Isabella Revina Wibowo, student at a student at Parahyangyan Catholic University, Indonesia. She has identified Malmö University and the European University Viadrina as potential institutions where she would like to spend a semester as an exchange student.

Read the blog of 2016 Henry Fong Award Winner: Daniela Gahn